2020–21 Academic Highlights


Summer Sessions 2020

First Four-Week Session Begins Mon, June 15
First Four-Week Education Graduate Session Begins Mon, June 22
Independence Day (holiday); no classes Fri, July 3
Second Four-Week Session Begins Mon, July 13
Last Day to Register for Independent Study, Internship,
Individual Instruction, and Dissertation
Mon, July 13
Second Four-Week Education Graduate Sessions Begins Mon, July 20
Final Exams or Last Class for All Day and Evening Classes
Fri, Aug 14
Autumn Quarter September Session Begins Mon, Aug 17
Grades Due Fri, Aug 28

Note: Graduate programs’ start/end dates vary by program. See the Time Schedule for specifics about your program.

Autumn Quarter 2020

September Session Begins Mon, Aug 17
New International Student Check-in (tentative) Mon, Sep 21
New International Student Orientation Begins Tues, Sep 22
New Student Check-in (time TBD)
Wed, Sep 23
New Student Orientation Begins
Wed, Sep 23
Returning Student Check-in (11 a.m.–5 p.m.) Sat, Sep 26
Returning Student Check-in (1–5 p.m.) Sun, Sep 27
Class Instruction Begins Mon, Sep 28
Last Day for New Autumn Admits to Complete Initial Registration Mon, Sep 28
Veterans Day Holiday (no classes; campus offices closed) Wed, Nov 11
Thanksgiving Holiday (no classes; campus offices closed) Nov 26-27
Last Day of Instruction Fri, Dec 4
Student Reading Day
Mon, Dec 7
Final Exams or Last Meeting for Evening Classes Dec 7-10
Final Examinations or Last Meeting for Day Classes Dec 8-10
Residence Halls Close for Christmas Break (10 a.m.) Fri, Dec 11
Christmas Break Dec 11–Jan 4
Grades Due
Mon, Dec 21             

Winter Quarter 2021

Residence Halls Open (1 p.m.)
Mon, Jan 4
Class Instruction Begins
Tues, Jan 5
Last Day for New Winter Admits to Complete Initial Registration
Tues, Jan 5
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (holiday); evening classes* meet 
Mon, Jan 18
Presidents' Day - All classes meet on normal schedule Mon, Feb 15
Last Day of Instruction Fri, Mar 12 
Student Reading/Faculty In-service Day Mon, Mar 15
Final Exams or Last Meeting for Evening Classes
Mar 15–18
Final Exams or Last Meeting for Day Classes Mar 16–18
Residence Halls Close for Spring Break (10 a.m.)
Fri, Mar 19
Spring Break
Mar 19–28
Grades Due Wed, Mar 24

Spring Quarter 2021

Residence Halls Open (1 p.m.)
Sun, Mar 28
Class Instruction Begins
Mon, Mar 29
Last Day for New Spring Admits to Complete Initial Registration
Mon, Mar 29
Good Friday (holiday - no classes meet)
Fri, Apr 2 
Easter Monday (half-day holiday); class instruction begins at
12:30 p.m.
Mon, Apr 5
Memorial Day (holiday); evening classes* must meet Mon, May 31
Last Day of Instruction Fri, June 4
Student Reading and Faculty In-Service Day Mon, Jun 7
Final Exams or Last Meeting for Evening Classes Jun 7-10
Final Exams or Last Meeting for Day Classes Jun 8-10
Ivy Cutting Fri, Jun 11
Residence Halls Close for Summer Break (4 p.m.) Fri, Jun 11
Graduate Commencement
Fri, Jun 11
Undergraduate Commencement  (to be decided) Jun 12 or 13
Graduating seniors vacate housing (to be decided) Jun 13 or 14
Grades Due Mon, Jun 21

*Evening classes include all classes that begin at 4 p.m. or later.

Evening Classes Are Those Beginning at 4 p.m. or Later

Monday evening classes meet on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents Day, and Memorial Day to have the required class sessions.